OnlineTogether
REGISTRATION

This conference is offered free of charge.

Please register to help us track participation, stay informed about conference-related matters, and gain access to the Zoom room.

HOW TO WATCH

The first two days will be streamed for viewing via YouTube at www.youtube.com/kohaus

Day 3 of the conference will be held in our Zoom room. The link will be sent to registrants prior to the event.
TENTATIVE PROGRAM

22

TUESDAY

8:00-8:10 am PDT

9:00a MDT
10:00a CDT
11:00a EDT
3:00p UTC

Opening Remarks

Lisette Scheer, koha-US President

8:10-9:00 am PDT

9:10a MDT
10:10a CDT
11:10a EDT
3:10p UTC

Koha Calisthenics: A Case Study in Adaptability

Jennifer Weston & Felicia Beaudry, Equinox

Biblioteca Nacional de Puerto Rico (BNPR) was one of the first two Equinox Open Source Grant award recipients. This award was offered for the first time in 2019, providing Koha migration, support, and training to the grantees. BNPR is proving just how flexible Koha can be, helping them provide services to researchers all over the world, even in the midst of a pandemic.

9:00-9:30 am PDT

10:00a MDT
11:00a CDT
Noon EDT
4:00p UTC

Library Systems Response to COVID-19

Cindy Li, Bridgewater State University

There are many new challenges surfacing during the COVID-19 pandemic: Conferences have been cancelled, and libraries around the world are facing difficult decisions on which services to offer, one of the biggest challenge is coming up with a strategy plan to smoothly transition students to return to campus when all the states order reopen. As library IT, it is very challenging during this unprecedented time, but it is also an opportunity for us to investigate and learn.

In this session, presenter would love to share their practices that work with team and collaborate with internal units and external partners to explore and develop systems, tools and new technology to engage students and faculty make use of library resources and improve library services.

9:30-10:00 am PDT

10:30a MDT
11:30a CDT
12:30p EDT
4:30p UTC

Making Slips Your Own

Joe Sikowitz, Fenway Library Organization

Utilize basic HTML and CSS along with templates toolkit to make customized slips.

10:00-10:30 am PDT

11:00a MDT
Noon CDT
1:00p EDT
5:00p UTC

Break

10:30-11:00 am PDT

11:30a MDT
12:30p CDT
1:30p EDT
5:30p UTC

Where Was I Again? Making Koha Recall User Actions After Login

Eric Phetteplace, California College of Arts

It’s possible to use code in OpacUserJS to create a framework for remembering user actions, so when a patron places a hold or adds a title to a list when they’re not logged in, Koha “remembers” what they were doing after they complete the login process.

11:00-Noon PDT

Noon MDT
1:00p CDT
2:00p EDT
6:00p UTC

Keynote

Stephanie Chase, Hillsboro Public Library

Noon-12:15 pm PDT

1:00p MDT
2:00p CDT
3:00p EDT
7:00p UTC

Break

12:15-1:15 pm PDT

1:15p MDT
2:15p CDT
3:15p EDT
7:15p UTC

Giddy-up Do-nut - AKA: "This is SPECTACULAR sql nerdery right here"

George Williams, Northeast Kansas Library System

I often have questions from librarians asking questions about items that require that I run several different reports in order to answer their questions. In order to make running those reports easier, I use one report that allows me to connect to several other reports quickly. This is a fairly advanced report but I will try to explain it in a way that makes it understandable for beginners.

1:15-2:00 pm PDT

2:15p MDT
3:15p CDT
4:15p EDT
8:15p UTC

Business Meeting, First Day Wrap-up

koha-US monthly general meeting.

23

WEDNESDAY

8:00-9:00 am PDT

9:00a MDT
10:00a CDT
11:00a EDT
3:00p UTC

Koha Mig - A Git Like Tool for Migrations and Data Projects

Rogan Hamby & Jason Ethridge, Equinox

Join us to learn about Koha Mig – an open-source git like toolset we develop and use to do Koha migrations and data projects. Learn how to use it to do tasks ranging from easy staging and analysis of tabular data files to moving configurations between Koha instances.

9:00-10:00 am PDT

10:00a MDT
11:00a CDT
Noon EDT
4:00p UTC

Training Teamwork: We Have Your Back!

Jessie Zairo & Kelly McElligot, ByWater Solutions

How do we continue to educate Koha users as the software grows and flourishes each and every upgrade? How can learning Koha be both fun and educational? Jessie and Kelly answered these questions by creating Monday Minutes, a weekly tutorial video, and a blog post. Our goal was to break down one thing in Koha, demonstrate it, talk about use cases, all in a video of fewer than 10 minutes! This presentation will demonstrate how to create educational, fun, short videos to train Koha users, patrons, or anyone else who needs quick information on new developments of any kind.

10:00-10:15 am PDT

11:00a MDT
Noon CDT
1:00p EDT
5:00p UTC

Break

10:15-11:15 am PDT

11:15a MDT
12:15a CDT
1:15p EDT
5:15p UTC

Koha for Nothing and your MARC for Free

Fred King & the Avenging Chicken, MedStar Washington Hospital Center

You are a librarian in a small library–public, college, maybe medical. You want an ILS but you have extremely limited funds. Your mission: build a system. This presentation will show the user how to use Koha, MarcEdit, and Z39.50 to automate a collection with minimal cost.

11:15-12:15 pm PDT

12:15a MDT
1:15p CDT
2:15p EDT
6:15p UTC

Catalogers, advance!

Jason Vasche, Round Rock Public Library

Does the thought of using Koha’s advanced cataloging editor strike fear into your heart? Fear no more! This beginner’s guide to the ACE will also include a section on defining and using macros.

12:15-1:00 pm PDT

1:15p MDT
2:15p CDT
3:15p EDT
7:15p UTC

Break

1:00-2:00 pm PDT

2:00p MDT
3:00p CDT
4:00p EDT
8:00p UTC

Very Very Basic jQuery

George Williams, Northeast Kansas Library System

I’ll do what I did in the workshop I did in May (which has already been recorded) just, hopefully, with some new attendees. I think of this as a prerequisite to my next workshop which will be “Very basic jQuery” which will be a precursor to “Basic jQuery.”

4:00-5:00 PDT

5:00p MDT
6:00p CDT
7:00p EDT
11:00p UTC

Virtual Meetup

Networking and de-stressing.

24

THURSDAY

Bug-a-palooza!

8:00-9:00 am PDT

9:00a MDT
10:00a CDT
11:00a EDT
3:00p UTC

Sandboxes

Lisette Scheer

9:00-9:30 am PDT

10:00a MDT
11:00a CDT
Noon EDT
4:00p UTC

Acquisitions

Rhonda Kuiper

9:30-10:00 am PDT

10:30a MDT
11:30a CDT
12:30p EDT
4:30p UTC

Cataloging

Heather Hernandez

10:00-10:30 am PDT

11:00a MDT
Noon CDT
1:00p EDT
5:00p UTC

Consortia

Bob Bennhoff

10:30-11:00 pm PDT

11:30a MDT
12:30p CDT
1:30p EDT
5:30p UTC

System Administration

Ed Veal

11:00-11:30 pm PDT

Noon MDT
1:00p CDT
2:00p EDT
6:00p UTC

User Services

Jill Kleven

11:30-Noon PDT

12:30p MDT
1:30p CDT
2:30p EDT
6:30p UTC

Web Development

Lucas Gass

MERCHANDISE